Henning G. Schulzrinne


450 Computer Science Building

Mail Code: 0401

Tel(212) 853-8468

Henning Schulzrinne architects, designs, models, and evaluates Internet protocols and applications, with a particular focus on real-time and embedded applications. He has been working on voice-over-Internet protocols that now power voice communications for modern mobile phones, enterprise, consumer, and public safety applications. 

Research Interests

Internet architecture, protocols and applications; Internet security; Telecommunications policy and economics; Internet of things; Internet multimedia protocols and services

From 2010 through 2019, he has been advising the US Federal Communications Commission (FCC), including in his former role as FCC Chief Technologist, on public safety, enabling communications for people with disabilities, the Open Internet, cybersecurity, network measurements, and preventing robocalling. From 2019 to 2020, he served as a Technology Fellow in the office of Senator Ron Wyden, advancing efforts on protecting data against illegal searches, improving broadband availability for rural and low-income households and preventing identity theft.

Schulzrinne and his team have developed the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP), the Real-Time Transport Protocol (RTP), and other multimedia signaling and support protocols that are used in the 3GPP, CableLabs, NENA NG911 (for emergency calls) and other system standards to support VoIP and multimedia streaming applications. Most recently, he has been working on automating the diagnostics of Internet network faults, protecting the electric grid against cyber- attacks, and scaling up the Internet of Things.

Schulzrinne received his undergraduate education at the Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany, his MSEE at the University of Cincinnati, and a PhD in Electrical Engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 1992. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and ACM.


  • Postdoc, Distributed Systems Research Department, AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, New Jersey. September 1992 – February 1994


  • Chief Technology Officer, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), January 2017– 
  • Senior Advisor for Technology, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), September 2016–December 2016.
  • Technology Advisor, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), September 2014–August 2016.
  • Chief Technology Officer, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), January 2012– August 2014.
  • Engineering Fellow, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), Sept. 2010–May 2011.
  • Professor (tenured), Dept. of Computer Science and Dept. of Electrical Engineering (joint appointment), Columbia University. August 1996–.
  • Department vice chair, 2002– 2003;
  • Department chair, 2004–2009.
  • Researcher & deputy department head, GMD Fokus (now Fraunhofer), Berlin, Germany. March 1994 - July 1996.
  • Lecturer at Technical University Berlin. Consultant, 1994-1996
  • Teaching Assistant, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, January 1992 – June 1992.
  • Research Assistant, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, July 1988 – September 1992.
  • Research Assistant, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, January 1988 – July 1988.
  • Teaching Assistant, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, September 1987 – July 1988.


  • IEEE
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)


  • IEEE Internet award, 2016.
  • ACM Fellow, 2015.
  • WCNC 2015, “Intelligent Content Delivery over Wireless via SDN”, best paper award.
  • IEEE Communications Society Internet Technical Committee Distinguished Service Award, 2014.
  • Internet Hall of Fame, 2013
  • GREE 2013 best paper award (“Wimax in the classroom: Designing a cellular networking hands-on lab”)
  • 2011 Internet2 IDEA Award winner for ”Do You See What I See” tool (Kyung Hwa Kim, PhD Student)
  • Region 1 William Terry Award for Lifetime Distinguished Service to IEEE Region 1 (2010)
  • IPTComm 2010 best paper award (“Reliability and Relay Selection in Peer-to-Peer Communication Systems”)
  • IMSAA-08 3rd best paper award for A New SIP Event Package For Group Membership Management in Advanced Communications
  • VDE ITG Preis 2008 for Ubiquitous Device Personalization and Use: The Next Generation of IP Multimedia Communications
  • CATT lifetime innovation award (Brooklyn Polytech University) (2007)
  • Sputnik Innovator Award (2005)
  • IEEE Fellow (2005)
  • IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC) Outstanding Service Award 2005
  • Internet Telephony 2004 Product of the Year
  • Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Science and Technology (2004)
  • VON Pioneer Award, 2000


  • J. Janak and H. Schulzrinne, “Framework for rapid prototyping of distributed IoT applications powered by WebRTC,” in Proc. of IPTComm 2016, (Chicago, Illinois), Oct. 2016.
  • H. Nam, K. H. Kim, and H. Schulzrinne, “QoE matters more than QoS: why people stop watching cat videos,” in IEEE INFOCOM 2016 - The 35th Annual IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications (INFOCOM 2016), (San Francisco, USA), pp. 847–855, Apr. 2016.
  • M. Berman, P. Demeester, J. W. Lee, K. Nagaraja, M. Zink, D. Colle, D. K. Krishnappa, D. Raychaudhuri, H. Schulzrinne, I. Seskar, and S. Sharma, “Future internets escape the simulator,” Communications ACM, Vol. 58, pp. 78–89, May 2015.
  • W. Song, J. W. Lee, B. S. Lee, and H. Schulzrinne, “Finding 9-1-1 callers in tall buildings,” in 15th IEEE International Symposium on a World of Wireless, Mobile and Multimedia Networks (IEEE WoWMoM 2014), (Sydney, Australia), June 2014.
  • O. Boyaci, V. Beltran, and H. Schulzrinne, “Bridging communications and the physical world,” IEEE Internet Computing, Vol. 16, no. 2, pp. 35–43, 2012.
  • M. Papadopouli and H. Schulzrinne, Peer-to-Peer Computing for Mobile Networks. Springer, Jan. 2009.
  • H. Schulzrinne and K. Arabshian, “Providing emergency services in Internet telephony,” IEEE Internet Computing, Vol. 6, pp. 39–47, May 2002.
  • J. Rosenberg, H. Schulzrinne, G. Camarillo, A. R. Johnston, J. Peterson, R. Sparks, M. Handley, and E. M. Schooler, “SIP: session initiation protocol,” RFC 3261, Internet Engineering Task Force, June 2002.
  • H. Schulzrinne, S. Casner, R. Frederick, and V. Jacobson, “RTP: a transport protocol for Real-Time applications,” RFC 3550, Internet Engineering Task Force, July 2003.